500 miles, 500 miles….

Here’s what Jim said in his latest e-mail:

Monday, August 04, 2008, 46.58 north 135.39 west, Wind 5 knots out of thesouthwest, speed 6.5 knots. Course 72 degrees true. water temp. 61F, 450miles to Cape Flattery, 534 miles to Anacortes.

He has high hopes for a spinnaker run into the sound.  The winds have calmed down, they are able to air the boat out a bit, and everyone’s appetite is back.  All great news.  He said his “Time To Go” meter reports that he will be in Anacortes at 5:00 pm Thursday evening. 

I know his crew will be kissing the ground the minute they get off the boat.  I’m not sure they bargained for all this going to weather busienss.  “You get what you get, and don’t throw a fit,” as I tell our girls. 

Molly and Jessie and I are moved back into our Arlington home, sort of.  The big furniture is there, but the whole 40-foot container of stuff is still sitting in Anacortes.  I don’t even miss it.  I hope the simplicity of the last couple of years will stay with us.  It’s been great to catch up with friends and family, but everyone seems so busy and a bit stressed.  When I have too much noise, traffic and demands put on me, I find myself going to a peaceful atoll in the South Pacific, where the only sound is waves lapping against the hull of Ruby Slippers…

500 miles, counting down.  We’ll keep you posted!  ~  Jeanna